Aristotle Support

Deleting a Record

Article ID: 604
Last updated: 11 Mar, 2010

Deleting Records
You can delete a Record from the Dataset. Prior to permanently deleting a Record, CM
gives you a warning message to confirm whether or not you wish to permanently delete the
Record. We advise that you delete Records with extreme caution. Retrieving a deleted
Record is laborious. 
 
  ADVISORY: To maintain the integrity of your data for financial disclosure reports, do
not delete records that have Contribution and Disbursement entries.

Because unintentionally deleting a Record can create problems, CM5 requires you to take an
extra step before deleting. From the menu bar, select Records > Current Selection > Remove
on Delete. Once the Remove on Delete option is checked, it will remain checked until you
uncheck it or exit CM5. When you log back into the program, the option is unchecked by default.
When it is checked, any Record you delete will be permanently removed.

Step-by-Step…


1.  Select the Record you want to delete.
 
2.  From the Main Menu Bar, select Records > Current Record.
 
 3.  Select Delete.
 
 4.  Click Yes to confirm deleting the Record.
 
 OR…Delete this way.
 
 1.  Select the Record you want to delete.
 
2.  Click the Delete button   on the Main Menu Bar.
 
 3.  Click Yes to confirm deleting the Record.
 
NOTE: If you have not been given the permission to permanently remove Records from the
Dataset you will see a message that reads, “You do not have permission to delete.” Contact your
system administrator to enable your ability to delete.

Accidental Deletion
If you accidentally delete a Record or a Current Selection you may be able to recover the
data. Get everyone out of the system and call Aristotle technical support at 1-800- 243-
4401 immediately.

This article was:   Helpful | Not helpful Report an issue


Article ID: 604
Last updated: 11 Mar, 2010
Revision: 1
Views: 413
Prev     Next
Records       Changing Master Records