Aristotle Support

Merging Two Records

Article ID: 429
Last updated: 12 Jun, 2009

Every now and then, you’ll come across a duplicate record in your database and, as we all know, dealing with duplicates is unpleasant. First you have to laboriously copy data from the duplicate record to the desired record, and then carefully review all of your work to make sure everything is correct, and finally you have to delete the duplicate record.  Fortunately, Aristotle 360 makes it quick and far easier to combine data from two records into a single record, thus eliminating the duplicate.

Often, you’ll first notice a duplicate record while doing a Quick Search. You can also run the Query report Individual Duplicate Check periodically to locate duplicate records in your dataset. First determine which record is the Primary record – the one you want to keep – and which one is the duplicate. Even if both records have some information worth keeping, it’s usually easy to determine which one you want to save.

Identifying a primary record is crucial because it is the basis for determining how the merge will proceed. No information in the Primary record will be overwritten. If the two records have different information in a given field – an address, for example – the
merge will keep only the information in the Primary record. However, the merge will keep all receipts, disbursements, notes, etc. from both records, but move them to the Primary record. Pictures and marital status data are not merged.

When you click the Merge button in the group at left, the Merge panel opens beneath the Search results. In most instances, you’ll have to scroll down to see the entire Merge panel.

Simply check the record you want to keep as the Primary record, and click the Merge button at the bottom of the panel. You’ll see this message, asking you to confirm the action: Are you sure you want to MERGE?

At this point you can cancel the process, or click OK to complete the merge. After clicking OK, the window will refresh and you’ll notice that the duplicate record is no longer on the Search Results list. And a quick check will show you that any and all pertinent information from the duplicate is now contained in the Primary record.

This article was:   Helpful | Not helpful Report an issue


Article ID: 429
Last updated: 12 Jun, 2009
Revision: 1
Views: 918
Prev     Next
Steps to Use Advanced Search to Create a List       Receipt Search by Deposited Date